Be The Match

Today I found out that I’m a possible bone marrow match for a patient. Initially upon seeing the email, I expected to feel nervous, but I was actually really, really excited. I joined the National Bone Marrow Registry on 4/19/15. It takes about two months to receive and blood type your DNA. I was officially in the system on June 25. Less than two weeks later and I’m a possible match. 

I hope I end up being a complete match for the patient. As anxious/nervous/excited as I am to potentially the procedure, the thought of being able to help someone and save their life outweighs that. It’s nice to know that I don’t have to wait another 7 years until I become a doctor to begin helping save lives. 

I definitely encourage people to consider joining the registry! Visit bethematch.org for more information. 

2 thoughts on “Be The Match

Leave a Reply

